Civ Duel Zone  

Go Back   Civ Duel Zone > Civilization > General Discussion > Civ V
Home

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2014, 11:43   #1
Socrates
Emperor
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Paris, Europe
Posts: 3,923
Default Civ5 available on Linux through SteamOS

Civ5 is now available on Linux through SteamOS. There is a discount just for today.
There

Maybe Beam is interested?
I myself don't care because I don't want to play Civ5 and I don't want to use Steam. But this is going in a good direction.
__________________
Sent from my Debian
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 23:42   #2
Beam
c00l b33r
 
Beam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beat 'm up Scotty!. Lives in the Lands that are Nether.
Posts: 5,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socrates View Post
Civ5 is now available on Linux through SteamOS. There is a discount just for today.
There

Maybe Beam is interested?
I myself don't care because I don't want to play Civ5 and I don't want to use Steam. But this is going in a good direction.
Beam saw this earlier today (at that other site where I went for some obscure reason for the first time this year lol) and when getting home immediately verified my Civ V Windo$e license actually worked in Ubuntu and right after that spend a whopping 13 euros on the Complete Edition.

Omg, omg, omg, omg Been waiting for years for this

Plays like a charm and the only thing I have to sort out is how to get higher vid resolutions working.
__________________
That was a pretty good gamble. -- Scotty, The Galileo Seven, stardate 2821.5, Episode 14
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2014, 00:06   #3
Beam
c00l b33r
 
Beam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beat 'm up Scotty!. Lives in the Lands that are Nether.
Posts: 5,083
Default

Screen resolution is solved as well so I'm playing at 1920x1080 without a glitch and good fps atm. The response from the Linux community at Steam is simply amazing btw and it seems to run very well on wide variety of hw and linux distros. The port is native btw so no involvement of Wine.
__________________
That was a pretty good gamble. -- Scotty, The Galileo Seven, stardate 2821.5, Episode 14
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2014, 00:47   #4
Socrates
Emperor
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Paris, Europe
Posts: 3,923
Default

Soon, nobody is going to need Windows anymore.
__________________
Sent from my Debian
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 11:27   #5
Shabbaman
Administrator
 
Shabbaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa La Haya
Posts: 8,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beam View Post
Plays like a charm.
It's still civ5. Plays like a charm, no depth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socrates View Post
Soon, nobody is going to need Windows anymore.
Most games I've been playing the last year are available as a Linux version: CK2, EU4 and TF2. It's a shame you don't like Steam, since you definitely should be playing the first two.
__________________
"Our spam is backed with COMETS!"
Shabbaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.