Civ Duel Zone  

Go Back   Civ Duel Zone > PBEM and Pitboss Games > Mistfit's forum
Home

Old 28-11-2005, 11:49   #1
Rik Meleet

Default Helping Mistfit with a new PC.

Mistfit informed me that he wants to buy a new PC / new hardware to be able to play Civilization 4. His current system is 6 years old and has a PCI-video card.

After talking to him I learned that it's for cIV mainly. He'll be needing a CPU, Memory, Vid-crd, Motherboard, Harddrive and a stronger Powersupply. I think he'll be needing a new chassis as well. He'd like to stay below 800 USD, but he did mention 1000 USD to me as well. I have no knowledge of hardware prices in the US.

I thought up this configuration:

CPU: AMD 3500. An alternative (more expensive, but also quicker) = AMD 4000.
Video Card: Geforce 6600 GT (128MB or 256MB). Alternative (More expensive, but will be up-to-date for more years) = Geforce 6800 GT.
Motherboard: Asus A8N-E. This one has an active cooler, so there could be a bit fan-noise. Alternative = Asus A8n-SLI deluxe Nforce 4 SLI.
http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?m...1=3&l2=15&l3=0
Memory: 2 modules of 512 MB DDR 400 (also called PC2300). Best to get a "kit" as that allows dual-channel, which basically inproves speed.
HardDrive: 200 GB serial ATA (S-ATA) - that's about 20 Euro cheaper than 80 GB.
Powersupply: absolute minimum is 350 Watt. 400 Watt is recommended. Bigger wattage is advisable.

CDZ-ers; what do you think ??

Old 28-11-2005, 12:08   #2
Darkness

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Rik Meleet

Video Card: Geforce 6600 GT (128MB or 256MB).
If it's just for civ4 than the Geforce 6600 is a bit excessive don't you agree?
After all, the game also runs on cheaper cards (hell, it even runs on my integrated intel card, though the videos are not very good)...
Old 28-11-2005, 12:18   #3
Rik Meleet

For the game to run; yes it is much.
For the game to be able to run Huge Terra maps with 18 civs late game (which some HOF-players might go for), I don't know.