PDA

View Full Version : Robi's Civ Theory

Robi D
24-12-2007, 16:30
Its safe to say i have many theories and ideas running through my brain, can't help it its just me. Logical and analytically pretty much describes me, so its not a huge shock i'm an engineer [lol]. I find the dynamics of MP games interesting, much more changable then playing against the AI, and this is my take on those dynamics. This isn't aimed at anyone, newbies and experienced players may take something from it. You don't have to agree with what i say, you can comment if you wish. This just me putting down some of these ideas down for all to see. Anyway with further delay, here is essay number 1, exclusive to the CDZ:D

The tension of War and Peace

Every MP game has it on life. As good as you make the AI it doesn't see things the way a human does. It has a set of parameters and follows them. Its devoid of emotions and judgements, if a=b do c, it follows its own path, it doesn't try to get in your head. A human does, they will not just be thinking what to do if a=b, but also what you will do. One aspect of this is the tension of War and Peace.
I know what your thinking, what the hell is he talking about? Its something you probably already know instictivly, but haven't put it into words.

Each game will start with the tension of peace, since your at peace by default, except always war games of course. Now the thing about peace is that it pay a big divided, namely a high tech rate. In peace you are able to devote your resources towards research, which lead to a space victory. War on the other hand slows your tech rate a great deal, meaning you will be losing ground to your opponents who are at peace in the tech stakes. And this is why the tension of peace is formed. No one wants to go to war and risk losing ground to everyone else. The longer this tension goes the harder it is to break.