PDA

View Full Version : Cavern News

Beorn
30-03-2007, 16:21
With Rik and Paal talking about jobs in their life thread, I figured I'd start one and try to fish for some job luck [:p]

So I'll make this short for further reference: I'm a drop-out math graduate, figured after a year of research that it wasn't my world at all - I wouldn't have the seriousness it takes if my life depended on it. However, over the year there (McGill Univ, Montreal) I did some college teaching (in our school system, that means diff/integral calculus, vectors/matrices, basic engineering calculus and intro to simple differential equations; 14ish grade ±1) and I had a real blast doing it.

So I'm back in my good old Quebec City's Laval university getting a college teaching certificate. Job fishing in Montreal didn't really go well because all their colleges require a master's degree and experience, and then they will only give you part-time replacement jobs for years. I didn't like Montreal enough to go for that. Hopefully I can find myself a nice quiet place to settle down with a permanent job in the years to come.

Beorn
30-03-2007, 16:28
Now enough with the melodrama.

When I came back from Montreal my brother dared me to grow a Hulk Hogan 1988 royal rumble type of moustache. Short of anything better to wage, he promised me his respect.

http://www.civduelzone.com/forum/uploaded/Beorn/2007330162319_HOGAN.jpg
88.89KB

I STILL do not have his respect, though.

On an unrelated note, yesterday I took my year's first bike ride to the sugar shack. 46km total, loaded with the beer (going) and full with the beer (coming back) took me 3 hours, so this is nowhere near the kind of times I want to pull on my trip to Florida, but it shows hope.

I also hit a parked car while checking up on my gears and brakes before leaving my place. I have a nearly fist large bruise on my chest, it's really funny.

killercane
30-03-2007, 18:28