PDA

View Full Version : akots against anarres ** SPOILER **

akots
13-09-2004, 01:32
This is my first attempt to write up a spoiler, so don't judge me too severely. I'm learning. please post what you find redundant and what needs additional discussion.

The open thread for this game is here: (http://www.civ3duelzone.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=1729)

I'm playing as Japan and Anarres took the role of Haiwatha because it is small Pangea map (4AI - Greece, Rome, Babylon, and Carthage), Deity difficulty, and maximal aggression. Skyfish has been the mapmaker and was specifically asked to "leave us some room to expand" so that we are not badly cornered by the AI and also "place some food bonus nearby" as well as "some resources". This ended up in a very resource and luxury-rich map more PTW-vanilla style where everyone has everything.

I have set up a 4-turn settler factory in Kyoto and then started making settlers. Expansion went rather smoothly thanks to 2 luxuries and rather good terrain. But Japan sucks in starting techs. Even if there is The Wheel, it does not help that much. On Deity, you cannot trade it even for Alphabet. Hence, the plan was to hold on, get to Monarchy somehow, survive to Samurai and then try "kill them all" strategy. Samurai are good defenders and can be used with arty even against human players in decent numbers.

It is Pangea-Small size Deity, so the tech pace has been somewhat insane and AIs were expanding like crazy. I was quietly growing in my little corner meanwhile.

Another thing I wanted to try in this game was playing always war against a human opponent, which is Anarres. So, when his warrior showed up around turn 30 or 40, I just killed him.