PDA

View Full Version : How to get into map-making (and become good)

Irigy
19-02-2004, 10:46
i'm still quite new to CDZ, but all you guys are quite helpful and I like the overall atmosphere here, and so I thought I would like to give something back.

First thing that came into my mind, was starting to make maps. I did do a few maps for myself, but obviously i didn't ever make a map for a PBEM game.

So - what's the best way to get started? I don't think i should just make a map for someone who requests one. If they play for a while and notice that the map has some flaws it'll just ruin the game for them.
How did the other map makers start?

Beam
19-02-2004, 11:02
a) There are a couple of sticky mapmaking threads with loads of information, reading those certainly is a good start

b) Get yourself some thick skin once your friendly mapmaking mentor gives you feedback on your first couple of maps ;)

Irigy
19-02-2004, 11:04
quote:Originally posted by Beam

a) There are a couple of sticky mapmaking threads with loads of information, reading those certainly is a good start

I did this, and i think i understood it, but that's certainly not enough... is it?

b) Get yourself some thick skin once your friendly mapmaking mentor gives you feedback on your first couple of maps ;)

Ah! Where do i find a "friendly mapmaking mentor"? [mischief]

Plux
19-02-2004, 11:17
The SF-bot MM-mentor will show himself automatically once you have made your first PBEM map :)

Irigy
19-02-2004, 11:21
quote:Originally posted by Plux

The SF-bot MM-mentor will show himself automatically once you have made your first PBEM map :)

Hmmm, great![hmm]

Why do i sense a wave of sarcasm in the air...? :)

Aggie
19-02-2004, 11:23
No just a fair warning [evil]. But welcome to the club [thumbsup]

Skyfish
19-02-2004, 11:53
HEY ! HEY ! [mad3]

Enough disrespecting your superior here yeah ? [groucho]

Welcome Irigy :D
...and thanks a lot for your interest in making maps !