PDA

View Full Version : AI stupidities

Kingreno
25-11-2003, 10:12
Now that conquests is out how about a discussion about the AI. Do they need to give them even more boni? 60% at deity with a bunch of extra units was not enough to make the better humans lose the game. Maybe the "sid" level will. But is that right?

Look at the following:

http://www.civ3duelzone.com/forum/uploaded/Kingreno/2003112510442_minimap.jpg
58.84KB

In this game, on Emperor, The Mongol AI recieved this awesome starting position. However, Mining the cows, not building a granary (still does not have it...) and NOT building any city near the two cows to the NW of his captitol gave the mongols only an average empire in size.
I am not an expert but is it that hard to make the AI a) build its cities closer to eachother, b) standard irrigate the cows c)build granaries in potentially 4/5/6-turn setlerfactories? d)NOT start a freaking setler that will finish long before the city is size 3?
IMHO that would be far more challenging then a 60% bonus...[ponder]

Lt. Killer M
25-11-2003, 10:18
butt hat requires thinking and programing.....

anarres
25-11-2003, 10:33
My current pet 'AI-hate' is it's inability to deal with corrutpion. Even in 95% corrupt towns it will still fail to pick the high food tiles first. [rolleyes]

Darkness
25-11-2003, 11:51
The AI's inability to get good city-placement is indeed very, very annoying...
It hurts them in the early game and it's annoying to me after I've conquered them... :D

Beam
25-11-2003, 11:51
Barbarians are really glued to their positions, in one occasion my conscript warrior passed a stack of Horsemen and got away with it. Reducing barb suicide is OK but what is the difference if they stack up and kill themselves on Musketeers?

Lt. Killer M
25-11-2003, 11:58
I see barbs RETREAT to mountains now - wtf?

digger760
25-11-2003, 12:02
quote:Originally posted by Beam